FMM: Two Famous Women

9 May

Before I ever made the decision to start a blog, I became an avid reader of blogs. My Google reader is overflowing with blogs, from healthy living and weight loss blogs to college football and wedding planning (for my BROTHER).

Blogging is really about a community. Bloggers feast on other blogs as inspiration, as an outlet, as fun. When you read the more publicized blogs in these realms, you constantly see references to other bloggers. The connections are real and enviable.

One of the most inspiring blogs I read is from Kenz, All the Weigh. Kenz has a fun feature called Friend Makin’ Mondays, where bloggers who read her fantastic blog answer a question and then comment on other blogs to connect bloggers with others.

Here are the ground rules from Kenz if you want to participate:

If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here at: http://www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. By linking back here, everyone will have an opportunity to be equally heard.

FMM: If you could meet someone famous today, who would it be? And why?

This is a tough question for me. I would want to meet someone who is famous but who also could inspire me in my career and in my life. So I’ll split this two ways.

My professional desire would be to meet Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Supreme Court Justice.

Justice Ginsburg is a powerful and effective advocate for women and the poor in the United States. She has been on the Court for many years, and is one of the oldest Justices. Some are calling for her to retire while Obama is still President, but I think she should stay as long as she wants. She is sharp and always quick to defend her opinions. She can still reach across the aisle – she and Justice Scalia are great friends. I think learning from her would be an awesome opportunity.
My second, more mainstream choice for a famous person I want to meet would be Tina Fey.

Credit: Wikipedia

Tina Fey is hilarious. 30 Rock is one of my favorite shows. One thing that not everyone realizes about Tina, though, is that she used to weight more than she does today. She was working at SNL when she lost 30 pounds. All of a sudden, the decision was made for her to be on camera. She realizes the ridiculous standards that women are held to and speaks out about them in her humorous way. She became the first female head writer of SNL around that time too, in a world where female writers have trouble breaking in.  She now has 30 Rock under her watch. 30 Rock is consistently groundbreaking and a great comedic outlet in my life. Tina is pregnant for the second time, and just published a book.  What more can she do? I would love to meet her and learn from her, but also just to soak up her comedy.
Thanks again to Kenz for hosting Friend Makin’ Mondays!

4 Responses to “FMM: Two Famous Women”

  1. Kenz @ All The Weigh May 9, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    I met Justice Scalia several years ago, and it was one of the highlights of my 20’s.

  2. Patricia May 9, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    This was a great post, I didn’t know much about Justice Scalia. Tina Fey is fantastic!
    visiting from FMM

  3. LettuceMakesMeFat May 9, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    I really enjoy Tina Fey as well. I’m kinda sad I didn’t think of her when I wrote my post. Very good choices!

  4. Kim May 12, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    Great pics for FMM! I just picked up Bossypants to read.
    Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

